Law Firm Donations to Republicans Who Objected to the Electoral College Count

Following the January 6 riot on Capitol Hill, many Republican members of Congress still proceeded with objecting to the 2020 electoral college count.

The actions taken by these members of Congress clearly threatened the United States’ sacred tradition of a peaceful transfer of power.  In response, many companies have agreed to cease future political donations to these politicians.

According to, Lawyers and Law Firms donated $7,807,867 to these Republicans objectors in 2020, equating to the ninth largest industry donor.

When lawyers are sworn in to practice law, they take an oath to uphold the prestige of the profession, and to do so through their practice and their actions.  The objectors to the 2020 election are public officials who attempted to undermine the democratic process with no legal basis to do so, and while some citizens may agree with their decisions, attorneys and law firms have an obligation not to support those who do not support the law. Below is a compiled list of law firms that are PACs (Political Action Committees) and have previously donated to these members of Congress.

These firms, and specifically the attorneys within them, must reconsider their political donations and ensure that the candidates they support, regardless of political party, will all uphold the rule of law.

The following law firms made donations to members of Congress during the 2019-2020 election cycle who objected to the 2020 electoral college count, according to FEC documents:

Law Firm Total.Donated
Maynard Cooper & Gale $84,500
Holland & Knight $79,750
K&L Gates $70,000
Nelson Mullins et al $64,000
Squire Patton Boggs $63,300
Akin Gump et al $59,600
Adams & Reese $52,500
Brownstein Hyatt et al $49,750
Kelley Drye & Warren $45,000
Balch & Bingham $42,800
DLA Piper $41,750
McGuireWoods LLP $41,000
Jones Walker LLP $39,750
Cozen O’Connor $34,500
Covington & Burling $32,500
Locke Lord LLP $32,000
Polsinelli PC $30,500
Husch Blackwell LLP $29,175
Baker & Hostetler $28,893
Blank Rome LLP $28,000
Baker Donelson et al $27,000
Dykema Gossett $25,000
Steptoe & Johnson $22,500
Alston & Bird $22,000
Barnes & Thornburg $22,000
Duane Morris LLP $21,500
Greenberg Traurig LLP $20,500
Bradley Arant et al $20,300
Butler Snow LLP $20,000
Ice Miller LLP $20,000
Hall Render et al $19,000
Thompson Coburn LLP $19,000
Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer $18,528
Bracewell LLP $18,000
Venable LLP $16,000
Faegre Drinker et al $13,500
Kilpatrick Townsend $12,400
Crowell & Moring $11,500
King & Spalding $11,500
Troutman Pepper $10,500
Ward & Smith $10,000
Bryan Cave et al $9,000
GrayRobinson PA $9,000
Winston & Strawn $7,500
Arent Fox LLP $7,250
Clark Hill PLC $7,000
Pillsbury Winthrop et al $7,000
Sandler Travis & Rosenberg $7,000
Williams & Jensen, PLLC $6,000
Holland & Hart $5,500
Nossaman LLP $5,500
Foley & Lardner $5,000
Hogan Lovells $5,000
Michael Best & Friedrich $4,500
Paul Hastings LLP $4,000
Bose McKinney & Evans LLP $3,500
Kutak Rock LLP $3,500
Van Ness Feldman $3,500
Lockridge Grindal Nauen PLLP $2,871
Akerman LLP $2,500
Brunini Law Firm $2,500
Gibbons PC $2,500
Olsson Frank et al $2,500
Calfee Halter & Griswold $2,250
McGlinchey Stafford PLLC $2,000
Miller & Chevalier $2,000
Vorys Sater et al $2,000
Vinson & Elkins $1,500
Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney $1,100
Baker Botts LLP $1,000
Hooper Lundy & Bookman $1,000
Lathrop & Gage $1,000
Manatt Phelps & Phillips $1,000
Ballard Spahr LLP $500
Butzel Long PC $500
Dentons Cohen & Grigsby $500
Dorsey & Whitney $500
McDermott Will & Emery $500
Miller Canfield et al $500
Winthrop & Weinstine $250
Total $1,460,717

How the data was calculated:

To obtain the data displayed on this page we took the following steps:  (1) downloaded the raw data of campaign contributions from 2019-2020 cycle from the FEC website; (2) matched the committee ID (the law firm’s number) to the all the objectors’ candidate IDs to see the total amount donated to each politician; (3) added all the donations made from a particular firm to a member of Congress that objected to the results of the electoral college.

Senators Who Objected

Ted Cruz, Josh Hawley, Cindy Hyde-Smith, Cynthia Lummis, John Kennedy, Roger Marshall, Rick Scott, Tommy Tuberville

House Members Who Objected

Robert Aderholt, Rick Allen, Jodey Arrington, Brian Babin, Jim Baird, Jim Banks, Cliff Bentz, Jack Bergman, Stephanie Bice, Andy Biggs, Dan Bishop, Lauren Boebert, Mike Bost, Mo Brooks, Ted Budd, Tim Burchett, Michael Burgess, Ken Calvert, Kat Cammack, Jerry Carl, Buddy Carter, John Carter, Madison Cawthorn, Steve Chabot, Ben Cline, Michael Cloud, Andrew Clyde, Tom Cole, Rick Crawford, Warren Davidson, Scott DesJarlais, Mario Diaz-Balart, Byron Donalds, Jeff Duncan, Neal Dunn, Ron Estes, Pat Fallon, Michelle Fischbach, Scott Fitzgerald, Chuck Fleischmann, Virginia Foxx, Scott Franklin, Russ Fulcher, Matt Gaetz, Mike Garcia, Bob Gibbs, Carlos Gimenez, Louie Gohmert, Bob Good, Lance Gooden, Paul Gosar, Garret Graves, Sam Graves, Mark Green, Marjorie Greene, Morgan Griffith, Michael Guest, Jim Hagedorn, Andy Harris, Diana Harshbarger, Vicky Hartzler, Kevin Hern, Yvette Herrell, Jody Hice, Clay Higgins, Richard Hudson, Darrell Issa, Ronny Jackson, Chris Jacobs, Mike Johnson, Bill Johnson, Jim Jordan, John Joyce, Fred Keller, Trent Kelly, Mike Kelly, David Kustoff, Doug LaMalfa, Doug Lamborn, Jacob LaTurner, Debbie Lesko, Billy Long, Barry Loudermilk, Frank Lucas, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Nicole Malliotakis, Tracey Mann, Brian Mast, Kevin McCarthy, Lisa McClain, Daniel Meuser, Mary Miller, Carol Miller, Alex Mooney, Barry Moore, Markwayne Mullin, Gregory Murphy, Troy Nehls, Ralph Norman, Devin Nunes, Jay Obernolte, Burgess Owens, Steven Palazzo, Gary Palmer, Greg Pence, Scott Perry, August Pfluger, Bill Posey, Guy Reschenthaler, Tom Rice, Mike Rogers, Hal Rogers, John Rose, Matt Rosendale, David Rouzer, John Rutherford, Steve Scalise, David Schweikert, Pete Sessions, Jason Smith, Adrian Smith, Lloyd Smucker, Elise Stefanik, Greg Steube, Chris Stewart, Glenn Thompson, Tom Tiffany, William Timmons, Jefferson Van Drew, Beth Van Duyne, Tim Walberg, Jackie Walorski, Randy Weber, Daniel Webster, Roger Williams, Joe Wilson, Rob Wittman, Ron Wright, Lee Zeldin

To view the individual contributions click here: Law Firm Donations to Republicans Who Objected to the Electoral College Count

Josh Gerben, Esq.

Josh Gerben, Esq. is the founder and principal of Gerben IP. In 2008, Mr. Gerben started the firm to provide high-quality trademark services at reasonable prices. Today, he is recognized by the World Trademark Review as a top trademark filer, having registered over 7,500 trademarks. The contents of this blog are for informational purposes only and may not be relied on as legal advice.

Do you need assistance with a trademark matter?

Contact an Attorney Today

Contact Us
Back to top